The purpose of the Carson County Square House Museum is to provide
the highest possible level of museum experience through the collection,
care, exhibition, interpretation, and demonstration of items that illustrate
the history, natural history, and art of the Texas Panhandle.
Location: Intersection of TX Hwy. 207 (Elsie Street) and Fifth
Street in Panhandle
Hours: 9:00-5:00 Monday-Saturday 1:00-5:00 Sunday Closed Easter,
Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's Day
Admission: There is no admission charge to the Museum, special
exhibits, or programs. Donations are welcome
Tours: The Museum is self-guiding. Group tours can be arranged
by calling or writing the Museum. There is no charge for tours. For more
information: call (806) 537-3524, fax (806) 537-5628, write P.O. Box 276,
Panhandle, TX 79068, or e-mail email@example.com
ABOUT THE SQUARE HOUSE MUSEUM
The historic Square House, built of lumber hauled from Dodge City in
the 1880's, is just one of 21 buildings, galleries, outdoor diorama,
and large outdoor artifacts that make up the Square House Museum complex.
Case exhibits and full-sized diorama tell the story of the Texas Panhandle
and its people, from mammoth hunters 12,000 years ago, through the Indian
Wars, cattle ranches, and the coming of the railroad in the 19th century,
to the oil boom of the 1920's and the region's part in the space program
of today. A wildlife gallery and two art galleries add other dimensions
to the history. Accredited three times by the American Association of
Museums, the Square House Museum is considered one of the best small
museums in the United States.
The Carson County Square House Museum started with the original Square
House, a small house which was built in the late 1880's as the railroad
reached to town of Panhandle and as the town was being populated. It
ws occupied by early settlers James C. Paul, pioneer banker; Judge J.L.
Harrison, rancher; James B. Wilks, innkeeper; and Sheriff Oscar L. Thorp.
The house was moved to its site at 5th and Elsie Streets in Panhandle,
and after restoration became the nucleus of the present Square House
Museum complex with its multiple buildings. The museum was opened in
1967. It was awarded a Recorded Texas Historical Landmark plaque in
1966. It was entered in the National Register in 1973. The museum is
accredited by the American Association of Museums. It houses historical
artifacts, art, and a Texana library. Traveling and in-house art exhibits
are hung in the two art galleries. It has been called a gem of the Texas